Manchester Theatre Awards 2016

Ok, so the 2016 Manchester Theatre Awards were a week ago (Friday 4th March), and you’ve probably seen the winners’ list and the red carpet snaps already, but better late than never.

Last Friday was a snow day for most people. Not me. I caught a bus into the city centre, walked for 20 minutes through thickly falling snow and arrived at HOME looking like an eskimo – albeit one with hair and make up relatively in tact.

Once dry, I joined nominees, press, critics, VIPs and general theatrical folk for a pre-ceremony drinks reception in the ground floor gallery. (I can testify to the deliciousness of the canapes.) Then we were called in to the auditorium and the ceremony started. Justin Moorhouse was the host once again and had everyone laughing within seconds – he kept things moving too, in spite of some rather long acceptance speeches.

The Youth Panel were proud to present our own award to Contact Young Actors Company for their inspiring show The Shrine of Everyday Things, which I reviewed back in July. Lizz Clark, head of the Panel for the past year, did a brilliant job of presenting the trophy and it was lovely to see it received so enthusiastically by members of CYAC.

As for the other winners, I was pleased to see Noises Off from Bolton Octagon (Best Ensemble) and The Bodyguard (Best Musical) take home some glass trophies – but incredibly they were the only shows I’d seen from the winners’ list. The armful taken home by the Octagon for A View From the Bridge made me wish all over again that I’d been to see it, but it’s all part of the joy of Manchester’s theatre scene. There’s so much on you can’t possibly see it all – but as I left HOME and walked home through the slushy snow, I made a determined vow that this year, I’ll try.

Leave a Reply

