Coming soon…

Hello all! Apologies for the radio silence – reviews have been somewhat lacking lately because, quite simply, I haven’t been to see anything. And with summer here (I am sweating a disgusting amount as I type) everyone’s dialling down for their holidays and theatres are having a well-earned break. Which saves me money, even if it is sad not to have any performances on the horizon.

That said, I DO have plans for next season and I am very excited about them. So you can expect the following reviews in a few months’ time:
11/10 – Swan Lake. The English National Ballet are coming to Manchester and I get to see them at a new venue – the Palace Theatre. It’s the cheapest possible ticket but since I know the ballet inside out I figured it was safe to risk a restricted view on this one! Casting hasn’t been announced yet but I have my fingers crossed for a certain someone to be dancing the Swan Queen…

16/10 – Manon. The Royal Ballet’s production is going to be screened live and I will be at the nearest cinema with bells on. I’ve only seen Manon once before – years ago – and I am super excited at the prospect of seeing two of my favourite principals (Marianela Nunez and Federico Bonelli) dancing together. Must remember to take tissues.

22/01/15 – Don Quixote. I only found out about this last night – my lovely, super-organised parents have bought my Christmas present already: stalls circle ticket (yes!) to see Steven McRae dance Basilio opposite Iana Salenko’s Kitri. Very excited to see her in the flesh for the first time.

Not bad, all in all. And to prevent me from wishing the summer away, I have the small matter of the Edinburgh Fringe looming…

097

I say looming, because I’m performing and I’m terrified. But I will also be seeing as many shows as my time and budget allow. I can’t promise reviews for them all (because let’s face it, that would be crazy) but I will be tweeting about each one and maybe doing the odd post if I’m bursting to write.
Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to enjoy the sunshine. I’m not going to see much of it in August.

3 comments

  1. I am also very excited to see Manon in October, especially as I adore Marianela Nunez! Would be great to compare views on it 🙂

  2. Cheers Chris!
    Yes Kathryn – we should! Marianela is my absolute favourite dancer, can’t wait to see what she does with the role. I do love the experience of seeing ballet on a big screen as well

Leave a Reply

